Congrats to ACM awards winners!

ACM has just announced its awards. In particular, the Paris Kanellakis Theory and Practice award was given to Andrei Broder, Moses Charikar, and Piotr Indyk, for their work on Locality-Sensitive Hashing (LSH)! LSH has already been featured in our blog, and will likely be again 🙂 The citation says: “For their groundbreaking work on Locality-Sensitive Hashing that has had great impact in many fields of computer science including computer vision, databases, information retrieval, machine learning, and signal processing.”

Also relevant (to TCS) is the ACM/AAAI Allen Newell Award, given to Yoav Shoham and Moshe Tennenholtz for “fundamental contributions at the intersection of computer science, game theory, and economics, most particularly in multi-agent systems and social coordination (broadly construed), which have yielded major contributions to all three disciplines,” as the citation goes.


One thought on “Congrats to ACM awards winners!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s